Client References
Trekking & Tour Price Guide

Nepali for Travellers
Nepali Currency Converter
Nepalese Flag

Nepal Tourism Board Trekking Agencies' Association of Nepal Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation Department of National Parks and Wildlife Conservation

Prem Thapa

Born: Amrite Village inside Chitwan National Park, Nepal.

Bhaktapur Durbar SquareBackground:   As a young child I was fascinated by the many foreigners passing through my local village with local guides.  It was this combined with my interest in different cultures and my love of nature that inspired my interest to work in tourism.  I left home when I was thirteen.  Young by Western, but not Nepalese standards.  I took my first job as a waiter in a local tourist lodge which allowed me to quickly gain a working grasp of the English language.  Through part time study and the encouragement of some very good teachers I was able to complete my School Leaving Certificate which allowed me to go to University some years later. 

Professional Experience:     I began my guiding career in 1994 as an Assistant Nature Guide at Royal Chitwan National Park.  After a year working as an Assistant I under went full Guide Training through the King Mahendra Trust for Nature Conservation and Royal Chitwan National Park.  From 1996, I began extending my activities to include the alphine and transhimalayan regions of my country.  In 1998 I completed my Trekking Guide training (a 6 week course) through His Majesty's Government of Nepal achieving an "A" level rating.   Both the nature and culture of my country are very close to my heart.  I have an excellent knowledge of Nepal's flora and Fauna (from my time as a Nature Guide) as well as a detailed understanding of Nepalese culture and tradition as it was one of my major subject at University.   I look forward to sharing my knowledge with my clients. In addition to my trekking activities I have assisted research students and social surveyors from abroad in rural parts of the country.

Education:   During Nepal's tourism downturn I took the opportunity to complete a Batchelors degree in English and Sociology-Anthropology (Tribhuwan University)  and I've just completed my Masters in English Literature and Criticism.  My trekking experiences, with the opportunity to learn from travellers from all over the world as well as the mountain and village people of Nepal, proved to be some of the best classes for my studies.

My Own Travels: I have been very fortunate to have undertaken some travel myself.  Through the friendships I've made through my trekking and guiding activities, I was able to make a six month visit to Europe in 2001.  One of the hightlights of my visit was spending a two months in the French Alps where I learnt to ski!  I also spent a few months living in Tunbridge Wells in the South of England and have just returned from a brief visit to Thailand. 

Hobbies:  Reading & Writing. I am a member of the Bird Education Society of Chitwan.