Client References
Trekking & Tour Price Guide

Nepali for Travellers
Nepali Currency Converter
Nepalese Flag

Nepal Tourism Board Trekking Agencies' Association of Nepal Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation Department of National Parks and Wildlife Conservation

History Of Nepal

Ancient Nepal was divided into many tiny principalities and ruled by different dynasties. But its present boundaries are expanded after many decades.

Founder of Nepal King Prithvi Narayan Shah The history of modern Nepal began its evolution in the sixteenth century with founding of the house of Gorkha by Darbya Shah in 1559 AD. In 1769 Prithvi Narayan Shah, the ruler of Gorkha unified these divers kingdoms and established the general shape of the present borders of Nepal. The succeeding Nepalese generations have recognized him as founding father of the nation. Since that time Kathmandu has been the capital of Nepal, which was, believe to be a lake in the ancient period. He started the process of unification of Nepal. By 1814 AD Nepal was stretching through the Himalayas up to Sutlej River at the west and Tista River in the east. The expansion process brought Nepal into conflict with the British East India Company, resulting into Ango-Nepalese war from 1814 - 1816. The wars lead to the treaty of Sugauli there by bringing Nepal to its present sized and border. After Kiratis, the Lichhavis as the second ruler of the country began rule 4th to 7th century.

The Mallas were benevolent patrons of the arts and it was during their reign that a ranaissance of arts, statues and temples flourished. During the 147th century Malla ruled this valley for a total period of 568 years. At that period this country was divided into small principalities and kingdoms of 24 groups in western and 22 groups in far western Kathmandu valley was divided into three states of Kantipur, Lalitpur & Bhaktapur.

From the tiny Kingdom of Gorkha, halfway between Kathmandu and Pokhara the king of Shah dynasty gradually strengthened and extended their power. In 1768 king Prithivi Narayan Shah defeated the Malla kings.

Nepal was then ruled by Shah kings until 2006, when an uprising ousted King Gyanendra and Nepal became a Federal Republic. The constitution is yet to be written.